top of page
  • Facebook
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
Boolarra FNC

Round 3 Review: Dogs scratching the door

Hill End v Newborough

There was no question that Newborough had already indicated some significant improvement had been made at the Kennel in the opening rounds of the 2022 MGFNL season, but it was this test against Hill End on the Rovers home ground that would give as a more definitive opinion on whether that improvement might be enough to threaten the big boys at the top.

The conclusion is that the Bulldogs are good and getting better, but still have a little way to go after Hill End won a very good contest 9-13-67 to Newborough 6-14-50.


Craig Skinner, Newborough coach It was a Great opportunity to gauge where we are against the competition's best. We played 1 and a half quarters of footy and was disappointed to watch Hill End kick the last 5 goals of the game.

But That’s what good sides do!


Mike Santo, Hill End coach, “ Was an back and forth game we started well and led at half time but newborough made some adjustments at half time and they came out ready to play and had most of the play in the third quarter and the start of the forth.

The newborough crowd were in full voice as they led by 15 half through the last quarter before we switched on and kicked 5 straight to win the match.


An entertaining game, although we are still not playing our best footy it is always good to get the 4 points ‘anywhere anytime’

Hill End, in defeating an aspiring team, answered a few questions that were being asked post their surprising draw against Boolarra just seven days prior, now the job for Mike Santo and his team is to start to string a few wins together that gives far greater opportunities and challenges later in the year.


Mirboo North v Yinnar Tiger's coach Josh Taylor had kept his normal cool facade despite his team losing the opening two rounds, and part of that front has been built on his side being able to "bounce back" from similar starts in recent years. Going into this match against Yinnar however he was acutely aware as was his senior team that a third loss in a row would have the odds of them being a finals aspirant quickly building against them, and indeed that is what happened. Yinnar 16-12-108 to Mirboo North 3-9-27 The Tigers now with a power of work to fo, just to be in contention let alone a contender. Josh Taylor, Mirboo North coach, "Not a great day. Yinnar won the toss and kicked with the wind which was a huge advantage. Second quarter the wind dropped off which was a pain but that’s footy. Beaten by a quicker, fitter and better side.It's a must win against MDU next week at home or our season is off to a disastrous start." While the Tigers season is on the brink of disaster the last fortnight for the Magpies has been super impressive. Daniel Taylor, Yinnar coach Another great effort by the boys, our workrate and tackling pressure was outstanding from the start which really set the day up for us. Everyone is having a crack and contributing which is very pleasing to see. Mirboo nth are always hard to beat up there so we really set ourselves for a big game, I thought they were good in patches and have some promising kids, we got the jump on them and to our credit we didn't let them get back in the game. The Magpies are well placed to climb their way further up the MGFNL ladder, while for Mirboo North it seems the only way is up for now.

Tarwin v Foster As good as Tarwin had been in their two wins in two rounds to start the season, their home ground clash with classy rival Foster, was always going to be the type of opposition that would fast track their credibility of being a finals contender rather than a middle of the range team. Foster, have had a fortnight to stew on their first round loss to Fish Creek, in a game where they led comfortably before inexcusably giving up what should have been an opening round win, but as disappointing as that loss was, things got even worse, the Tigers going down to the Sharks 4-6-30 to 10-2-62. Troy Hemming, Tarwin coach "Foster have some big bodies and are really strong around the contest. They brought some heat but our boys just stuck to the plan and played great footy! First game for the club for Noah bee Hickman was solid down back with Lachie shruer having his best game for the season next to him in the backline chopping everything off setting us up to attack! Jack vanderkolk is on antibiotics this week after receiving leather poisoning having his best game for the season! Very proud of our group seconds and seniors have all earned respect and the week off as we have the bye this week!" Good sides, won't panic under pressure, and in fact more times than not, they respond in a way that sees them at their best. Sam Davies, Foster coach "they are very well structured and much improved side, Tarwin, we really let ourselves down with front half turnover and letting the ball out of the back, which ultimately was the difference, but we're far from worried" Foster this week host Newborough, the Bulldogs too, coming off a loss and keen to put the Tigers to the sword, the clash looms as crucial for both teams, but especially for the home side as they chase their first win. MDU v Fish Creek There are not too many things worse than losing by a solitary point, as there are so many instances in a game where you can look back and think, what if we did that, what if goaled then, what if we didn't turnover when we did, but the fact is the only thing you can do is bounce back the following week and that's exactly what MDU had planned to do when they welcomed Fish Creek to their home ground, and didn't the Demons love it when their plan came together, winning comprehensively 7-17-59 to just 9 behinds, the well respected Fish Creek side kept goalless for the entire match.. Peter Harris, MDU coach, "The effort the boys have been putting in on the track paid off today, against a top side. We have set the benchmark now and have a real belief within the group" The bar has been lifted not only for MDU, but also for many teams in the MGFNL competition, with the knowledge that unless any side on any given day has come ready to play, they are vulnerable no matter the opposition. John Danckert, Fish Creek coach “ Really tough loss take on Saturday. Out played in every aspect of the game. We remain positive, we understand that we are a work in progress, we lick our wounds and learn a lot from a loss like that.” It's been said before, and it will be said again, this competition is as even as it's been, perhaps in decades and even a small blemish as that of the Kangaroos on this occasion can have longer lasting effects than just the one week. This week the test doesn't become any easier when they prepare for the challenge of Morwell East. Morwell East v Thorpdale There would not have been a more disappointed coach in Victoria, than Morwell East's Devon Soutar after his team's disappointing effort against Yinnar just one week prior. I say effort, because it wasn't so much his team's loss that hurt, but it was their application to the contest that obviously had him fuming. The chance to atone for a less than an acceptable performance was the Hawks priority as they welcomed Thorpdale on the weekend, and then destroyed them with four solid quarters of football, 21-15-141 to the Blues 9-6-50. Devon Soutar, Morwell East coach “ We needed to respond strongly after last week and thankfully we did. It gave the group real clarity about the link between workrate and result, and consistency in that aspect is what we are chasing.” Ray Pickering, Thorpdale coach," after a tough week with the flu (thankfully not Covid ) goin through the playing group the boys did well to get up for the clash and started brightly with a very competitive first quarter but with a strong wind behind Morwell East in the second they piled on the goals and essentially put the game to bed, our boys fought the game out well in the last but they proved way too good" Both of these two teams are showing improvement, for the Hawks it's about being good enough to compete in finals, for the Blues, at this stage, it's about being good enough to trouble sides above them, both are very close. Toora v Stony Creek

Successive one hundred point plus losses are obviously not the way you want to open your season, but for the Power overcoming such comprehensive defeats would start with a much improved performance against the visiting Lions.

Stony Creek were one from two, but desperately keen to take advantage of Toora's poor start to the season by assuming control of the match early and in doing so further deflating a team who had been bashed for a fortnight prior.

It didn't all go exactly to plan, but importantly it went well enough for the Lions to get the points with a five goal victory, 10-10-70 to 5-10-40.


Jai Acardi, Stony Creek coach “We had a great contest against Toora who pushed us all day.

It was pleasing from our point of view that we were able to play the style of football we have been aiming for and we are starting to gel as a team.”


It's a frustrating, testing time for Toora, the Power needing to be resilient as a club to find a way through, the journey although tough can be equally rewarding as small wins, not even necessarily victories, can be celebrated along the way.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page